Holy Shit… Its Been Awhile

Okay, I am officially a bad blogger. Hmmm… I’ll work on that.

So, a ton of stuff has happened since my last post. Probably the most important thing being my birthday. I am now 28, and I feel kinda old. However, it was a lovely celebration. Roger and I ate at my favorite restaurant, The Chicago Diner, where we ran into my friend Miles. That was cool. We saw a mediocre foreign film at the Music Box, and night capped it all off with Amy at Shannon’s in Glen Ellyn. All in all it was a good day. Then, on Tuesday of this week, my birthday part two, I got to eat at the Chicago Diner again! What a treat that was. Amy and I knocked around Milwaukee Ave.for a lil bit, attempting to complete some photojournalism stuff, which we successfully failed in accomplishing… However, I was somehow able to restrain my need to buy everything I saw at Crossroads Trading Co. Coats, shoes, faux fur vests, the list goes on…

Okay, so what I am about to tell you may or may not seem completely ridiculous, but Ames and I drove to and from the city twice on Tuesday (whatever, its my birthday, and I can do what I want). We both have our Alternative Photographic Process class on Tuesday and Thursday nights, so we had no choice but to go back to the burbs after we had spent all day in the city. But it was well worth it, cause we got to make more Cyanotypes (I do plan on scanning some of those for your digital viewing pleasure.) And, since my girl is such a trooper, I had convinced her to go to Kingston Mines, the “legendary ” blues bar of Chicago. Okay, I’m going to say this one time. I have never been to this place, and under no circumstance do I think I will ever return. Maybe I’m missing something, but it really was not for me. It was a lot of 40-year-old penises… If that somehow gives you an idea of our experience. And if you know Amy and I… Um… No.

Needless to say, we did not stay long at all. We headed to some place much more our taste, The Whistler. Which didn’t cost us a penny (Kingston Mines cost us each 12 bucks, did I mention that?) They have good drinks, and good music. Tuesday they had a really good jazz band. The people there are always cool, and I can’t think of any other place where a girl can get a drink where an egg white is part of the ingredients.

The best part of the whole night is, we ended the night at The Golden Apple for some late night french toast (best french toast in the greater chicago land area). If you have not tried it, I strongly recommend it. Even Ira Glass knows how amazing The Golden Apple is, it was featured on an episode of This American Life.

Made it to bed around 5 am. So, I’m getting older, but I could not have asked for a better 48 hours to celebrate my birthday. Nor could I ask for better people to spend it with.

 

