Dose of Medicine or Dose of Fashion and Food?

As I continue on with my Chicagoan Series of the coolest, and perhaps slightly below-radar happenings, places, and publications; my timing could not be better in introducing, Dose Market.

Dose Market is a monthly food and fashion market located inside the River East Art Center in downtown Chicago. Every month, businesses are chosen with a selective eye to participate. Dose Market was founded by April Francis, a stylist who lives here in Chicago. Initially, the concept was strictly fashion, but then, by a  helpful suggestion from a few friends, food was quickly incorporated. April, along with her three co-founders launched Dose Market in June of last year, and by the looks of it, are having tremendous success.

I had the privilege of making it out to this month’s dose on March 11th, and I was blown away. All I kept thinking as I wandered the isles of this “farmers market” for fashion and food was; innovation. Every single vendor had a unique vision, and everything was present from handmade jewelry to refurbished stereo systems created out of vintage luggage, and beverages of all kinds, to breakfast and cheese. I had a chance to speak to several vendors that day, and everyone was open, and excited about their product. It made me happy to see people have a chance to come together, share their vision, and support local and independent business all at the same time. I’m so glad I got dosed!

Dose Market happens once a month at the River East Art Center Located at 435 East Illinois Street, Chicago Illinois. To be sure you get your dose of the next, Dose Market, visit www.dosemarket.com

This months dosers’ include:

www.thechicagoanmedia.org

www.drifteyewear.com

www.artpentry.com/gentlemansboombox

www.sirandmadame.com

www.localfolksfoods.com

www.zorajewelry.com

www.minerologydesign.blogspot.com

www.verucachocolates.com 

www.bigjoneschicago.com

www.getbakedchicago.com

Plus many, many more…

Tagged , , , , , , , ,
