Blue Flower

I think it is safe to say that I am in the midst of a “blue period” as well as a “square period” I began taking photographs of flowers last summer, when I began my self-portraits. There is something about the combination of blue and yellow that draws me. The split-tone signifies a certain divide within the image. In my self-portraits it is a divide within the self, in the Blue Flower series, it is the divide of man and nature. There is an ever-present disconnect that perpetuates like a cancer from the beauty and wonders around us. We simply are “turned off” to the world and “turned on” to Facebook, the web, email, Instagram and whatever other digital or trivial distraction tickles our fancy.

Furthermore, there is the metaphor of the square or “box” if you will. I am a female and I have a box of sorts, “This box contains… sharp objects.” The stigma that clings to the feminine principle throughout theosophical and philosophical history is most present in the modern age. After all, it was Eve that lured Adam to eat the forbidden fruit wasn’t it? In Greek mythology, the gods created women to punish man using temptation and seduction. The sexual power women have held and still have to this day, has been quite the double-edge sword, to say the least. In ancient Middle-Eastern culture, women were worshiped as goddesses because of what our bodies of capable of. In the Tantra, the closest men could get to God, was through sexual intercourse with women. Women have the power to make life, to make breath, a miraculous endeavor and miracles can only be created by God. Therefore, men used this in order to get close to the Higher Power.

And then of course, the representation of the flower is quite obvious. And in keeping with this concept of duality, it also exists amongst plant life. Plants have sex in their own plant way. They have masculine as well as feminine parts; the carpel and the stamen and with the help of bees, are able to “get it on.”

I also plan on finishing this work in encaustics and maybe include them as interment images amongst my self-portrait series… I have yet to decide, but I see the connection in a metaphorical way.

 

Queen Ann's Lace

 

Tagged , , , , , ,
