Burning Bush at the End of Summer

I don’t have a lot to say about this image, other then it was taken at the studio where my partner and I made rag paper and cyanotypes last year. I believe this image was shot at the tail end of summer. The crimson and purple complement one another so well, with just the right amount of yellow peaking through the background. I always thought the leaf in which is the point of focus, looked like a star.

Red is the color of extremes. It’s the color of passionate love, seduction, violence, danger, anger, and adventure. Our prehistoric ancestors saw red as the color of fire and blood – energy and primal life forces – and most of red’s symbolism today arises from its powerful associations in the past.

Red is also a magical and religious color. It symbolized super-human heroism to the Greeks and is the color of the Christian crucifixion. Red was almost as rare and as expensive as purple in ancient days – a fact that may explain its magic and power. Paradoxically, today’s intense red dyes come from crushed insects (the lac beetle and the cochineal).

I enjoy color theory quite a bit, I have an impeccable eye for color within my work as well. The human eye is really something incredible. I’ll edit a photo one day and think the color balance is spot on and walk away, yet when I revisit the same image in a day or so, it”l have lets say, a yellow cast. No one person perceives to same hue of any color when looking through different sets of eyes… So our perception of the world we see is like a dream, but only the brain is awake. Therefore, there is a frame around that perception. This disappears when we are sleeping cause the brain lacks that structure. There are no boundaries, no constrictions. i find it very fascinating.

Burning Bush at the End of Summer

Tagged , , , , , , , ,
